Perspective

10436249_10152467545833062_5403108707093306006_nLast week I posted this picture to Instagram hoping to capture the product of little sleep, toddler tantrums, 2 days without a shower, and the consistent, nonstop demand that is breastfeeding a newborn. I even gave it a witty caption, “Update from the trenches of mommyhood…”

Funny right?!

At first I saw this picture and thought, man, I look tired.

The next morning though, after 4 straight hours of sleep, my outlook had changed. Amazing what an actual REM cycle can do for a girl, right?

I saw this picture again and realized this is going to be one of those photos I look back on 10 years from now and think, wow, I look so young! and look how tiny my babies are!

20 years from now, I’m sure I’ll say, I wish I knew how fast it would all go by.

I need to not be so critical of myself. These days are fleeting–and so are these three faces.

Someday, I’m going to miss the trenches of mommyhood.

 

Leave a Reply

