Chicken and Broccoli Loaded Baked Potatoes

When I was in (the very early stages of) labor with Addison I knew I wouldn’t be allowed to eat once I got to the hospital. So, my mom, Jacob and I all had a final supper at BJ’s Brewhouse before heading to the hospital. It was there that I discovered the best meal idea ever.

Loaded Baked Potatoes.

Now, I’m not talking your typical baked potato with sour cream and bacon and thats it. I’m talking a meal sized potato.

It was amazing.

The other night we had our friends over for dinner and the BJ’s Brewhouse meal popped into my head at the grocery store. I must say it was the best idea I’ve had all year!

(hey, it hasn’t been 2014 for long, friends)

So, this isn’t really a recipe, but more of a concept. An pseudo-recipe if you will.

chickbrocc

 

You will need:

  • Baked Potatoes (microwave or oven, your choice)
  • Bacon (fried and crumbled)
  • Chicken (baked and chopped)
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Homemade Cheese Sauce (recipe below)

All you do it cook each ingredient separately, then split your potatoes and load it on, finishing with the cheese sauce.

It’s bad I know. I mean, it’s delicious, but a tad guilty.

So of course I added a mixed green side salad. It probably didn’t make a huge difference but I felt better looking at the plate. But friends, it was soooo good. Do yourself a favor and make this. Tonight. Just do it.

Homemade Cheese Sauce Recipe

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 2 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar

Melt the butter in a large sauce pan. Sprinkle flour while whisking. Allow to cook for 4-5 mins. Gradually add milk while whisking constantly. Cook for a few minutes until mixture thickens. Add cheese. Whisk some more. Add a little black pepper if you’d like and you’re done. Easy Peasy!

Leave a Reply

