Emily’s Birthday Wish

LifeisLove_InvitationOnlyJPEG

I have met some pretty quality people in my life. My mom has always told me how blessed I am and I couldn’t agree more. My friends are funny, kind-hearted, generous people and I think that is what draws me to them. I strive to surround myself with people who make me reevaluate the world and challenge me to be a better person. Today I want to tell you about Emily.

1470171_10201715257577177_682487868_n

Emily and I met my freshman year of high school in Beginning Dance. We danced together throughout high school and what I always remember about that time is Emily’s ability to think big. Later in life, Emily and I both had daughters (almost exactly) one year apart.

Kid’s have a way of making you think bigger than ever.

So for Emily’s 25th birthday she decided to do something big.

She writes:

“I have always wanted to make a difference is somebody’s life. Just a part of who I am. For my 25th birthday I wanted to make a BIG difference in a lot of lives. I saw some of my favorite celebs raising money for various charities and that inspired me to try the same. Why not me?! So I chose the Somaly Mam Foundation because I had just read an article about the problem of sex slavery in Cambodia. I thought, there isn’t anyone else I’d like to help more. I love being a woman and the unspoken bond we all have. We should always be there for one another. I also have a daughter and I refuse to even think about her and anything like that happening. Its just a soft spot for me and I wanted to try to do something for someone I’ll never meet. I knew I couldn’t do it alone so I asked for help. And bam!”

The Somaly Mam Foundation is a nonprofit organization committed to ending modern slavery and empowering its survivors as part of the solution. Human trafficking, a multi-billion dollar industry, is the fastest growing criminal enterprise in the world. With an estimated two million women and children sold into sexual slavery each year.

Unfortunately, sex slavery is a very real, and very large problem. It is everywhere. Emily’s Birthday Wish is to donate $2,500 dollars to Somaly Mam and, with only 10 days to go, she is still $974 short. I think together we can make this happen.

Screen-shot-2012-10-10-at-10.31.07-PM-580x321

I am so proud to call Emily a friend, she took this opportunity to celebrate life, instead of herself. She thought bigger than her birthday, bigger than herself, and decided to give. Please feel free to share this with your friends, your family, your Twitter feed, wherever. Let’s bridge the $974 gap and support the Somaly Mam Foundation.

I know together we can make Emily’s wish come true!

Click HERE to donate.

Leave a Reply

