Paci Problems

20140115-142246

When Addison was a tiny newborn we, like many other parents, gave her a pacifier. I owe many things to this “paci” as we call it in our house. The paci has brought me quiet car rides and hours of uninterrupted sleep. It has saved me from the evil glares of fellow airplane passengers on many of the 14 flights I’ve braved with a baby. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end, and in this case it is especially painful-or it will be…eventually.

See? That’s my problem. I. Don’t. Want. To, at least not yet.

I know Addison is almost two (sob.) and the pediatricians recommend toddlers lose the paci by then, but with a move across the globe approaching, I just can’t take the plunge. First, I’ll admit, it’s terrifying. I know when we take the plunge there will be many, MANY days of whining and crying that I will just have to tolerate. Naps will be a struggle, nights will be long, but I know we will make it through.

My main issue really is that of our move. For those of you who don’t know, we are a military family and will be moving back to the U.S. in March. PCSing (permanent change of station) is scary and stressful for everyone, so I know Addison would really benefit from having her comfort item. She doesn’t have a favorite blankie or stuffed animal, so it feels kind of harsh to strip her from the one source of comfort she does have just due to the pediatricians time table.

20140115-142508

So yes, I am listening to my mommy instincts and we are waiting until we reach the good ol’ U. S. of A. before I tackle the paci problem. But you know what? I’m kind of looking forward to it. Like 10 % of me is looking forward to it at least. Mainly just so I can take a photo without seeing a giant hunk of plastic on my child’s face, and so I can quit checking every nook and cranny for a stupid lint covered paci before bedtime. Those instances I will not miss. Until then, Paci, your days are numbered.

Are you battling with a paci or have you conquered this already?? Tell me how below!

3 thoughts on “Paci Problems

  1. My sweet friend,
    Abraham was a “binki” lover. I too had a VERY difficult time giving it up. But the only way you can see how she reacts is to take it from her. Abe finally just grew out of it. But I have heard that by letting them see you throw them away has helped them move on. So that when they ask for their “paci” you can remind them that they went bye bye in the trash. And also make sure you have all of them so she does accidentally find one hidden somewhere. Haha. One of my friends said they were in an elevator and her son dropped his down the elevator shaft and because he dropped it himself he grasped the concept that it was forever gone. :)

    I love your blog. And I love you. :)
    ~ Jeneka

    • Jake said the same thing, about her just growing out of it, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Or maybe I’ll just start hanging out around elevator shafts! ;) Love you girl! Thanks for the support <3

  2. Pingback: The Day The Paci Died | ArillaBlog

Leave a Reply

