This time last year

This time last year I woke up really early after a night of tossing and turning.

I crept upstairs and crawled into my mom’s bed and nudged her with my toe. She opened a single eye and just looked at me, confused as to why I, at the age of twenty, had crawled into bed with her. I looked at her and said simply, “today is the day.” She grumbled a muffled “mmhmm you’ll be fine” and rolled over…so much for sympathy.

I checked my suitcase, got myself ready, and waited for my two best friends to meet me at my house.

After much pacing and heavy sighs I declared, “It’s time to go.”

I drove myself to the airport that day, needing something to concentrate on with all this nervous energy. My friends and I said our goodbyes and they watched as I walked into the terminal. This was really happening.

Though there was lots of nervousness I didn’t have a freak out “what-the-hell-am-I-doing” moment until I was on the plane. Suitcases in, overhead compartments secured, seat belt buckled, 1-2-3, prepare for take off. As the nose of the plane rose toward the sky I looked out my 4 inch thick window and thought to myself…”this is the worst idea you have ever had”

I was headed to a state I had never been to, to a place where I didn’t know a single person, all to meet a man I had only seen through pictures and grainy web cam images.

To late now though, destination: Seattle, Washington.

Leave a Reply

