Green to Gold?

Hello, Hello!

I know it has been awhile since my last posting but for great reasons!

The Mr. is no longer “working the road,” which means his unit is done patrolling the streets as a Military Police officer and is now in “green cycle”…whatever that means :)

To an Army Wife that means the return of 4 am wake-up calls and my husband fighting the 5 o’clock traffic after work. This sounds less the pleasant, I know, but for me it is the return of normalcy. (as normal as life can get in the Army anyways).

Recently, the Mr. has been trying to decide whether or not he will be reenlisting. His reenlistment window opens in July and starting then, we will have two years to decide what we (really HE) wants to do. As many of you know I am ALL FOR staying in the Army. I like the lifestyle and I LOVE the security. Deployments and trainings are the trade off for job stability and fully covered medical, however, so the decision essentially lies with the Mr.

A couple of weeks ago, the Mr. told me that he doesn’t want to reenlist, and he would prefer to be a DA police officer. These men and women are civilians who are contracted by the military to be their on base/post police force. So we could still move around a lot, still see other countries, the Mr. would still work on a military instillation, he just wouldn’t actually be IN the Army. At first, I admit, I had a little panic attack, but after thinking about it I agreed. This would be a good thing for us.

Yesterday, however, he was on to something different. For those of you who know us, you know my Mr. is not the most decisive person in the world, so this was not very unexpected. The Mr. told me that he was thinking about going “Green to Gold”. This would mean that he would take two years off of the Army (while still getting paid) to complete his BA degree, and after, would return to the Army as an Commissioned Officer. Imagine that?! My man wanted to quit the Army, but now wants to be an Officer!

Needless to say I’m not holding my breath, because this could change tomorrow, but I have to say I am so proud of my husband for wanting to get a college degree! He would be the first person in his (immediate) family to graduate from a University and I could take those two years and finish my degree at the same time. Fingers Crossed!!!

XOXO

T

2 thoughts on “Green to Gold?

Leave a Reply

