The Reality of Army Life

While much of this blog is about how crazy Army Wife Life is and poking fun at the very old fashioned traditions that have become apart of my life, I’m starting to realize that there is a very REAL part of Army Life that many of us choose to either ignore or don’t give much thought to.

The reality of deployments and soldiers at war.

While many of us in this neck of the woods are married to soldiers who have deployed before, it’s easy to forget about the seriousness of deployment, and when something happens that hits a little to close to home, it seems we are blindsided by the possibilities and outcomes that deployments bring.

For my civilian friends out there (holla!!) let me explain what I have learned about deployments thus far. In the civilian world many of us know of a “friend of a friend” who is deployed or has been before. All we most of us know about deployment is what we have seen on t.v. or on the news and, while we know it is scary and horrible, that is pretty much the extent of it.

As some of you may know I met my husband while he was deployed. I was a part of a group of ladies who wrote letters of support to soldiers who were deployed and through a long series of God created events we met and married shortly after he returned. I had know idea what he went through in combat or what it might have been like.

As civilians, it is important to know that every single soldier that sets foot in a war zone is in danger. The war in Iraq and Afghanistan is a group effort and is not fought by any one unit or organization of the military. In time of war we should be grateful for every soldier that returns home and pray for every soldier that deploys.

You may be asking what I’m getting at and that is this:

Recently, a soldier from Joint Base Lewis McChord (where we are stationed) was KIA (killed in action) and he just so happened to be in the same unit of one of my friend’s husband. I did not know this soldier and he is in no way directly connected to me or my husband, however, when a friend of a friend, or your friend’s husband’s battle buddy is KIA it hits just a little to close for comfort and you are forced to recognize that this is a very real war we are fighting.

This post is not about if this war is right or wrong. Supporting our troops should not be a political statement. If you believe in the war or not, you still have to understand that their are husbands, wives, sons, daughters, sisters, and brothers fighting for our country and putting their lives in danger.

I believe this quote says it best:

If you can’t stand behind our soldiers, feel free to stand in front of them :)

The family of this fallen hero is in my thoughts and prayers, feel free to click on the link below for more info.

http://www.katu.com/news/local/117161108.html

I will end this post on a good note with a random picture of my cat :)

now go hug your loved ones!

XOXO

T

4 thoughts on “The Reality of Army Life

Leave a Reply

