Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Hello all, so after an awesome time at the River Cats game last night, I decided to stay in this lovely summer evening and make some spontaneous oatmeal raisin cookies. These oat-filled beauties have always been a family favorite around here and I was in serious need of a cookie enduced pick me up…

Enter Quaker Oats man,

That jolly little blue-hat-wearing man with his flowing locks of white hair really called to me from his cylindrical box and I thought, Why not??

And all of this leads to…

MY VERY FIRST FOOD BLOG ENTRY

Granted I should have started with some amazing layered cake with ganache and fresh fruit and a custard of some kind, but the Quaker man got to me first so here it is..

This recipe is ridiculously easy and is actually on the bottom of the box lid or on the back of the wrapper depending on which box you buy.

Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

You will need:

1/2 lb (2 sticks) margarine or butter, softened
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)<– I used it in mine.
3 cups Quaker Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
1 cup raisins

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F
2. Beat together margarine and sugars until creamy.
3. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.
4. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well.
5. Stir in oats and raisins.
6. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.
7. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.
8. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheet; remove to wire rack.

And here they are..


photos courtesy of my crappy iPhone camera.

and here is my wonderful baking assistant Nicole,

she mostly just watched and taste tested but that was to be expected, not all my friends are as domestic as I am. ;)

2 thoughts on “Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

